3 Awesome Changes Coming in 2014 to California’s Employment Laws
It’s a great time to live and work in and California. Three important new policy changes are going into effect in 2014 that give additional rights and benefits to employees in that state.
(Photo Credit: Free Grunge Textures – www.freestock.ca/Flickr)
Family Leave Rights
Currently, workers in California enjoy the right to take up to six weeks off from work, paid via wage replacement, to bond with a new baby or to care for a seriously ill child, spouse, domestic partner, or parent. Beginning in 2014, California is extending the the paid family leave rights to enable workers to care for siblings, grandparents, grandchildren, and even in parents-in-law.
The state of California already has a minimum wage that is higher than the federal minimum wage: $8 in California instead of $7.25 nationwide.
As of July 1, 2014, the state’s minimum wage goes up to $9. The state of California’s minimum wage will go up again to $10 per hour as of January 1, 2016.
The state of California is the only state (thus far) to clarify that sexual harassment is not necessarily motived by sexual desire. The new language goes into place in California law in 2014.
While some believe that defining what sexual harassment is not will simply confuse juries, others recognize that it is a good thing that the law is trying to define sexual harassment, in an attempt to protect workers from being victimized. By recognizing that sexual harassment is a malicious grab for power over another person, juries may come to accurate conclusions when deciding who is guilty and who deserves to receive reparations.
Tell Us What You Think
What change would you like to see in employment laws? We want to hear from you! Leave a comment or join the discussion on Twitter.