(Photo Credit: graur razvan ionut/freedigitalphotos.net)
"While on the surface this may seem like a simple feature to develop, it was not," writes Paul Rockwell, head of Trust & Safety at LinkedIn, on the network's blog. "There were many different use cases to consider, products and features to integrate, as well as a user interface we had to create."
Rockwell also recommended that users consider other options to secure their profiles, including disconnecting from specific users, customizing their public profiles to control what's visible to search engines, and tweaking photo and profile viewing permissions.
To block a user, members should:
1. Go to the profile of the person they want to block. (Don't worry: once the profile is blocked, the blocker's profile will disappear from "Who's Viewed Your Profile.")
2. Move the cursor over the down arrow next to the top button in the top section of the user's profile.
3. Select "Block or Report."
4. Click "Continue."
5. Click "Agree" to confirm.
After that, you won't be able to access each other's profiles or send messages with that person. Any messages and endorsements will be removed, you won't see each other in "Who's Viewed Your Profile," and you won't be suggested to each other in "People You May Know" and "People Also Viewed."
Tell Us What You Think
What other features would you add to any of your favorite social networks? We want to hear from you! Leave a comment or join the discussion on Twitter.