Automotive Service Technician / Mechanic Reviews - Page 2

3.6
(1,693)
Highly Satisfied
Last updated Nov 22 2022
Find out what you should be paid
Use our tool to get a personalized report on your market worth.What's this?
United States (change)
How it works:
1
Enter city & years of experience
2
Add pay factors like skills & education
3
Find your market worth with a report tailored to you

Automotive Service Technician / Mechanic Reviews

What is it like working as an Automotive Service Technician / Mechanic?

April 2014
I Guess It's Better Than Nothing.
Automotive Service Technician / Mechanic:
Pros: I like cars and turning wrenches. Most of the people I work with are decent, hardworking people.
Cons: The pay is not enough to make a living. It's also very dirty and unsanitary-we're encouraged to change our uniforms at work but there is no locker room, and the bathroom floor is filthy.
April 2014
Mechanics Are Exploited.
Automotive Service Technician / Mechanic:
Pros: Nothing like fixing the most challenging job to really give you a sense of accomplishment. I look forward to it to keep me on the front line of my trade.
Cons: After performing top notch repairs time and again and proving my worth it just gets expected and never appreciated, in dollar terms. Employers are always looking for "qualified techs" but when they get one they don't want to pay and consistently try to de-value your performance to justify their greed.
May 2014
Requires Excellent Attention To Detail And A Wide Knowledge.
Automotive Service Technician / Mechanic:
Pros: The industry is ever changing and there is a wide variety of tasks to perform.
Cons: It is physically demanding, leaning over bonnets, working at awkward angles and reaching up for long periods can be uncomfortable and tiring. The pay rate is not so good.
January 2015
Beware of very false promises and no benefits!
Automotive Service Technician / Mechanic:
Get everything in writing! Business owners will verbally promise you the world verbally but in the end steal from you!!!! They feel you should work for free!
January 2015
One weekend day off.
Automotive Service Technician / Mechanic:
Pros: Able to get one weekend day off work - Sundays Off!
Cons: Very Overstaffed, no vacation time until after the 1st year, low pay scale, no performance reviews provided by manager, no opportunity for growth nor professional development.
January 2015
This is a thankless job.
Automotive Service Technician / Mechanic:
This is a Thankless job, it costs alot of money to be a mechanic, the cost of tools is very expensive.
January 2015
The smarter you are, the less you'll get paid.
Automotive Service Technician / Mechanic:
The smarter you are, the less you'll get paid. If you're very good at diagnosing complex problems you will end up getting all the complex work. Not usually a problem until you figure out that at a dealer, most of that work is warranty. Warranty pay isn't great. You have to document everything you do or you risk losing the claim back to the manufacturer. Stress levels are very high among managers.

Automotive Service Technician / Mechanic Job Listings

Search