Substitute Teacher, K-12 Reviews

3.9
(86)
Highly Satisfied
Last updated Oct 09 2021
Find out what you should be paid
Use our tool to get a personalized report on your market worth.What's this?
United States (change)
How it works:
1
Enter city & years of experience
2
Add pay factors like skills & education
3
Find your market worth with a report tailored to you

Substitute Teacher, K-12 Reviews

What is it like working as a Substitute Teacher, K-12?

November 2018
A Very Sisyphean Enterprise.
Substitute Teacher, K-12 in Blue Springs:
Pros: I love working with kids because occasionally they are inquisitive and open to new ideas. It is a beautiful thing when they've not only grasped something that I taught them but have their own insights and thoughts on it as well, and I can really see their potential and see them grow and feel like a part of something special and important in their lives. There's also the fact that in the future, they will inherit our disintegrating social fabric and our despoiled Earth with all of its dangers and grave responsibilities, and that is only if we manage to survive the coming decades. I bring this up just to make it fully clear that this is indeed important work.
Cons: The children that I've worked with have major disciplinary issues, and KCPS has absolutely no support system for their teachers, who have been overwhelmed by all of these sad refugees from a broken society. I can explain further but the character limit prevents me from qualifying my statement in any thorough manner.
June 2020
I think that this position is very beneficial to a work life balance and raising a family.
Substitute Teacher, K-12 in Haleiwa:
Pros: I like the academic aspect of my job and educating the students in the academic materials.
Cons: I think sometimes I am not equipped for working with certain grade levels.
February 2015
Working as a substitute teacher is good.
Substitute Teacher, K-12:
Pros: I like to learn more about school missions. Furthermore, my pay rate depends on the hours I work.
Cons: As a substitute teacher, students walk over you since the full time teacher is out.
March 2015
Perks.
Substitute Teacher, K-12:
Pros: Teaching children about Language Arts and Reading.
Cons: Low Pay for having a Bachelor's degree.
August 2015
That I would have had benefits if I worked full time.
Substitute Teacher, K-12:
Get a full time position ASAP.
October 2015
Substitute teaching.
Substitute Teacher, K-12:
Pros: I have the advantage of observing the different classrooms and teaching staff. Some of the schools are great to work in and I try to pick the same ones again when I can. I like having lessons already prepared and having student helpers who know the routine to make my assignments as less stressful. I the fact that using the lessons laid out I can teach the lesson for the students to learn what they need to know from the lesson. Also the teachers love the fact that I give out homework based on the worksheets provided by the teacher.
Cons: In some of the classrooms, I found there are some students who act out when a substitute teacher is assigned to them. There is no disciple with the classroom or the students. The principals of the schools are all at odds with the students and feel that their hands are tied. Another thing I like least about the job is that the assignments are few and once in a while I may get to work a whole week of assignments.
February 2017
Great place to work.
Substitute Teacher, K-12 in Cheney:
Pros: Friendly co-workers.
Cons: Bad pay wages.

Substitute Teacher, K-12 Job Listings

Search